I am currently an EAL (English as an Additional Language) teacher. The hardest part of my job is to gain access to the mainstream classroom. At a philosophical level, I do not believe in a pull-out model of intervention. I believe that with proper collaborative planning, most of the students' needs can be addressed within the classroom. This is why I have joined this collaborative effort to learn more about effective co-teaching. I hope that by sharing what we have learned, mainstream teachers will become more open to true collaboration for the betterment of all students.
Kathy
8/21/2013 10:52:52 am

Pull out doesn't help students learn how to interact with their peers, doesn't allow them to contribute or help anyone learn to have relationships with people who are different. Is segregation and isolation what we want to model for our students so they can play that out in the real world?

Reply



Leave a Reply.